blog by BruceWillisOnly.com

mainly gossip about Bruce Willis

Nerd meets cool Bruce Willis

Posted by Janett on September 16, 2007

MOST of us imagine it’s only mere mortals who get star-struck.

But Die Hard 4.0’s Justin Long admits he was like a kid in a candy shop when he got a voice message from action movie hero Bruce Willis.”I got a call from him that I’ve saved to this day,” Long says.

“It was very surreal. He said: ‘Justin Long, this is Bruce goddamn Willis. How the hell are ya? I hear we’re working together. Truly psyched . . .’ And went on about how excited he was to work with me.

“I’m such a nerd I played it for all my friends: ‘Bruce Willis just called me. And he calls himself Bruce goddamn Willis. That’s the coolest thing I’ve ever heard.’

“I tried saying that for a while – ‘I’m Justin goddamn Long’ – but it didn’t quite have the same ring.”

It seems, however, that this phone call from Willis had the desired effect. At the time Long – probably best known as “the Mac guy” in the recent Apple commercials and a puny nerd in Ben Stiller’s Dodgeball – was wavering about accepting a role in the highly anticipated sequel.

“It seems silly to say now, because I can’t believe I hesitated at all to do this movie,” Long says. “But at the time I had been offered this really cool little romantic comedy. So I was on the fence, surprisingly. My friends were all ready to slap me in the face: ‘You’re genuinely thinking about not doing Die Hard 4 with Bruce Willis?’.”

Strangely enough, Long suspects Willis may have been aware of this when he made the fateful phone call.

“We were about three weeks away from starting work on Die Hard, but I hadn’t said yes yet. Maybe Bruce found out that I hadn’t said yes, or he was just calling to intimidate me,” he says. “I was like, ‘I can’t say no to that, that’s so cool’.”

Once on set, it didn’t take Long to realise Willis was human. He says it helped that his character is required to treat the action star with disdain.

“At first I was mistaking his cool, stoic demeanour for like, he really thought he was cool,” Long says. “I felt he was intimidating. But in these scenes we were doing, I had to think he was a douchebag and give him shit, so I really had to let go of that.

“And he didn’t make it hard to do. I know this is such a cliche, but he’s just a dude, like any of us, flawed . . . he just makes a lot more money. And he has daughters with different-sounding names,” Long jokes, referring to the star’s daughters – Rumer, 19, Scout, 16, and Tallulah Belle, 13.

In Die Hard 4.0, Long plays computer nerd Matt Farrell, who helps Willis’s resolutely low-tech character, Detective John McClane, fight a digital attack on the US which is slowly crippling transport and communications computers.

It is a touch of type-casting for Long, as Willis apparently decided he was right for the role after spotting him as the cool – some may say smug – guy who represents the personification of a Macintosh computer in a long-running series of Apple Mac ads.

“Bruce saw this hipster dude and was like ‘That’s the guy’.”

But the role itself involved quite a different set of skills. “In fact, while we were filming I had a hard time being a wise-ass and saying sarcastic lines when we were getting shot at,” Long says, saying the crew were quickly on to him. “They kept saying things like, ‘We want you to be the Mac guy’. And I’m saying, ‘Well, the Mac guy doesn’t get shot at!’.”

Long said he’s not concerned about continuing in the role of “the Mac guy” for now. “But if five years from now I’m still playing only hackers and computer guys, that’ll answer the question, I’m sure.”

One Response to “Nerd meets cool Bruce Willis”

  1. marlboro said

    Very nice this blog =)

Leave a Reply

 
