blog by BruceWillisOnly.com

mainly gossip about Bruce Willis

Bruce Willis Interview

Posted by Janett on July 8, 2007

Why did you decide to make ‘Die Hard 4.0’?
Bruce Willis:
I love this character [John McClane], he is truly mythical and one of the cool things about ‘Die Hard 4.0’ is that the first one was made 20 years ago, so guys who grew up watching the film now have families of their own and it’s great that they can take their own children to this one. Loads of guys come up to me and say, ‘I’m so excited I can to take my son and my daughter to see this film.’ That is a terrific thing. I took a great leap of faith that people would still be really interested in this character, but you know, they are.

How exciting was it for you returning to John McClane?
BW: It really is exciting. It was a huge risk, on the face of it, because I could have retired from the series undefeated, and gone out with just the three films. But during the years since the third film, whenever I travelled around the world, I found that when we actually started shooting the film and word got out about a fourth ‘Die Hard’, there was a great response and I got even more excited.

So I do know there is a huge audience waiting for this film, and you can be sure that I personally feel this one is at least as good as the first one and maybe even better. We had a terrific crew who were all fans of the original films themselves. Everyone who came to work on this film did so because they believed in it.

Once again, this film is action packed, how much of the action did you do yourself?
BW: I have a stunt man, there are some things I just cannot do. I can’t jump off a tall building and land on the hood of a car, somebody else does that. But I have to tell you, I did a lot of stunts, all the fight sequences. I know that getting hurt is always one of the dangers, but I was happy to take the risk.

Advertisement

You did get injured, how did that happen?
BW: I got injured a lot. I got kicked in the head, I have an ‘L’ shaped scar. I had to have about 20 stitches on the inside and 14 on the outside.

You are in such great shape, did you do special training for the film?
BW:
I work with a trainer all the time. I lift weights and do cardiovascular training for stamina. I run too. I look at working out as work, I don’t do it for fun. It’s not a thing I look forward to, I don’t say, ‘wow, great, lets go work out’, but I had to do it a lot on this film because I needed the stamina. I needed to have as much muscle on my frame as possible so that I could do the action sequences, for example, diving onto concrete from four or five feet.

Did the fact that you are older take a toll on you physically and make the shoot harder?
BW: Being older means that the recovery time takes a little bit longer if you are injured. I have a lot of scars, physical mementoes from this film. And the stunts were a lot easier to do 20 years ago. But I don’t mind the hard physical aspect of making ‘Die Hard’ films because doing this kind of film brings this little kid out in me (laughs). As kids we used to jump off the roof in the backyard and do really crazy stuff and that’s what it felt like doing this film, being a wild kid again, falling out of trees.

What were some of the most challenging aspects of making the film?
BW: Doing the stunts for real – they are not special effects, they are mostly real. For example, at one point a car flips over 10 times narrowly missing Justin and me – that was actually a real car.
They had it on cables, it was not CGI. Different guys would have used more effects. Obviously we had stuntmen doing some of the bigger falls.

What were the challenges for you in terms of your career, of stepping back into John McClane’s shoes?
BW: The potential to fail was very high. I can tell you that we didn’t fail and we have made a great film. The hardest part of doing these films is trying to put the character back in jeopardy. Once you get him in jeopardy then it becomes easier because you are on your way. The hook this time is very believable.

Would you agree that ‘Die Hard’ had a formidable influence on the entire action genre and continues to do so?
BW: Along with ‘Lethal Weapon’, that was shot in the same year, it did become the template for a lot of other films that came afterwards. It spun off a lot of other action movies that tried to replicate that ‘Die Hard’ experience and it did have a big impact. But you know, imitation is always a backhanded compliment, it is flattering.

This film deals with terrifying themes. Do you have fears about terrorism yourself?
BW:
You have to have an awareness of how dangerous the world is. Demi [Moore] and Ashton [Kutcher] and I all work together to teach our three kids what the world is and what is out there, what the dangers are – all the perils of the world that you and I have worked out for ourselves over the years. These kids are just coming into the world and it is hard, but my kids are really smart and really hip, they get it. I am so fortunate that we communicate about everything.

After all these years, is acting still a passion?
BW: I am very passionate about acting. I get to do all kinds of different films and have a lot of choice, I am lucky. I can make small independent films as well as big films and supporting roles
in other people’s movies like ‘Grindhouse’ and ‘Lucky Number Slevin’. And then I get to do big, juicy studio films like ‘Die Hard’ and ‘Perfect Stranger’.

But you know, I am still learning how to act. I am still finding a way. I do my best in everything I take on. Not every film I have done has turned out to be a hit, but I have always tried my hardest. Acting is a passion, I get a very big kick out of it, it is much more than a job for me and always has been, it is the way I express myself creatively.

What are some of your own favourites?
BW: ‘Die Hard’ of course, and the others – ‘Pulp Fiction’, ‘The Sixth Sense’, ‘Twelve Monkeys’. There is also a good movie I did called ‘Immortal Thoughts’ that I did with Demi that didn’t make a lot of noise or money but I like that character. And I liked ‘Nobody’s Fool’ too with Paul Newman. I don’t know if I have done my best work yet, though.

Do you still enjoying playing music with your band The Accelorators?
BW: I do. Because music is something that I get to do and not that I have to assign some kind of monetary award to it. I do it just for myself, I do it just for fun. I couldn’t make a living at it, I would starve.

Leave a Reply

 
